Which detergent do you use for felting?

I exhibit at a lot of art and craft shows.  I meet many people who ask me about felting.  Some who have tried it with success, some who have failed, and many who are collecting sweaters and waiting to try.

Sage Beautiful with Purple Pepper and Cosmos

Earth first! All the time!

I am often asked which detergent I use and many assume Woolite® , but I have never used it.  A quick search of their website does not reveal an ingredient list.

It may be perfectly earth friendly, but I prefer to use a brand that really focuses on earth friendly products.

I use Seventh Generation’s Natural 2X Concentrated Liquid Laundry Detergent  I love the lavender scent.

If your sweater is clean, use just a little bit, maybe only a drop of detergent.  If it is dirty use the amount recommended on the package.

If you have a good detergent that is eco-friendly let me know what it is and maybe I’ll give it a try!

Here’s some more tips on felting!

About Feltwerker

A feltmaker and guerrilla seamstress since 2006. See what I make and where I'll be http://www.feltwerker.com
This entry was posted in Felting, Green Crafing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

