Sweaters in the Garden

I know this one isn’t for everyone, but one way that you can use old sweaters or t-shirts is as windscreens for your tender seedlings.

I put my tomato seedlings in several weeks ago.  We have already had several days in the high 80’s, but today is cold, windy and rainy.

Imagine yourself outside in the wind, what do you do?  You seek out a wind block or sheltered doorway!  So I decided to do that for my seedlings.

I took some old t-shirts and one old holey sweater out into the garden and put them around my seedlings.  I used clothes pins to attach them to the cages.  I left one side open on the most protected side.   Make sure that the material is not flapping around or rubbing against the plants.

I didn’t take the time to make mine look cute, but I’m sure you could make them nicer than I did.

In case you need some awesome tomato cages or more traditional seedling protection check out Gardeners Supply Company.

About Feltwerker

A feltmaker and guerrilla seamstress since 2006. See what I make and where I'll be http://www.feltwerker.com
This entry was posted in Green Crafing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment