…the tangled web we weave

This is a story about connections.

In the first part of this century (sounds funny right!) I took a class in woodworking with Bertold Schweiger and managed to get through it with all my fingers and two wonderful pieces of furniture that I love.  Because of that class I went to a design show at the Merchandise Mart to see some of his work or his students (not exactly sure anymore).  What I took home with me that day were some beautiful postcards from some fabulous quilters that also had a display at the show.

Months later I went to an open house for Bertold and his students during one of the Oak Park Harrison Street Studio walks.  Along with all the fab furniture were the stunning quilts that I had seen at the design show and whose postcards were still sitting on my piano….

My friend, who came with me that night, realized that one of the two designers of the quilts had gone to design school with  her.  To my delight their quilt studio was 15 minutes from my home and they were teaching classes!

Napping Quilt

I signed up for quilting classes with Bill Kerr and Weeks Ringle, owners and designers of FunQuilts.

They take quilting to new and fantastic heights, design their own fabrics, write books and recently started a magazine called “Modern Quilts.” https://www.facebook.com/pages/Modern-Quilt-Studio/206021399463625

So after taking several classes and many small quilts later (still have my napping quilt on my couch) and of course one gigantic UFO in a bin, life intervened and quilting came to an end for me.  But what had awakened was my love of color and texture (I still remember Bill trying to get me to make my free motion pattern bigger as he nervously watched me use their long-arm quilter for the first and only time….somehow I just couldn’t get bigger….all about the texture!)

Their lessons on color, designing, sewing and working efficiently made a long lasting impression on me and I am grateful  for our momentary connections and for their profound impact on me and my work.

Please visit their new website  or find them on facebook

About Feltwerker

A feltmaker and guerrilla seamstress since 2006. See what I make and where I'll be http://www.feltwerker.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

