A brief respite from feltmaking

At this time of year, I have a little breathing room without the steady drumbeat of doing art shows.  It is so much fun for me to learn something new, so this week I will be venturing into the realm of leather work.  I will be taking a class at The Chicago School of Shoemaking.  I would love to make a pair of shoes, but will start out with the leather jewelry class.  Looking forward to meeting my teacher, Sara, who has been making shoes for 36 years!

Last year at this time, I signed up to take a basket weaving class at Terra Incognito in Oak Park, IL.  The teacher was Karen Gubitz, an amazing fiber artist.  She was a wonderfully supportive and inspiring teacher.  Under her close tutelage I made my veryNatural Fiber and Felt Basket first hand-woven basket. 

Because Karen is such an adventurous creator, she inspired me to use a piece of felt that I had been saving for quite a while.  It was a long twisty rope of felt that I had sewn and crocheted for a purse handle, but wasn’t able to use.  I love it here.

In 2011, her home was featured in the Oak Park Holiday House walk.  I was so inspired by the photos of her home and work.  You can see them on her facebook page
You can also see Karen’s work on exhibit through the Oak Park Art League
About Feltwerker

A feltmaker and guerrilla seamstress since 2006. See what I make and where I'll be http://www.feltwerker.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

